MEETING MIK ~ MIKMOI perfume

logo

It was supposed to be just a casual meeting. At three thirty this morning I woke up after only three and a half hours sleep knowing I had to write about him.

I met Michael Coyle who goes by Mik for coffee in Patricia Green after work yesterday. We had been talking about a meeting to discuss perfume and his new perfume line Mikmoi since we had met a few weeks ago at the Artisan Fragrance Salon. On my way to our meeting there were a few texts from Mik that I missed since my phone was turned off. But something told me to check. “I am on my way but Muni underground is backed up.”pg

I walked on through the little needle park that is Patricia Green at the terminus of interstate 80 that we call Octavia Boulevard.  Young mothers watched their children playing on the jungle gym. Hipsters were meeting at the pop up beer garden; dogs off their leases were having a field day casing pigeons. Sunny but not warm it was a lovely beginning of a spring weekend in San Francisco.

I looked up and down the park as I walked. There was no sign of Mik. I checked my phone. “Missed Call”. I dialed the number that had to be Mik’s.

“Where are you?”

“I am at Ritual Coffee.”

 rc

My favorite Coffee Popup, Ritual Coffee

We both turned around at the same time and were facing each other. With a simultaneous laugh we met.

Our conversation began as we ordered our coffee. Mik is a fascinating urbane charming man. He is a self described “Glass half full” kind of man and so am I. Therefore our conversation over the next hour and a half over flowed.  He told me about his life and how he came to become a perfumer. Since it was just a casual meeting I didn’t take notes and we agreed on a formal interview at a later date.

Mik is all about diversity and inclusion not only in his day job but in his life and ultimately his perfume. His roots are in upstate New York but early on he heard the call of a much wider and more exciting Technicolor world of adventure and travel.

 MM_Studio_large

Mik of Mikmoi (photo from Mikmoi website)

He has lived in London, the French Alps, Hong Kong and Bangkok just to mention a few stops along the way. And he has been until now an unmet neighbor of mine for many years. His international life has been an ongoing education for him to an ever widening understanding of other cultures and customs.  Mik has opened himself to new ideas of exploration in human diversity and the rejection of stereotypes. During our visit I discovered that he has a passion for language as well as perfume and all things Japanese. I asked him if Mikmoi was a Japanese word. He explained that it is not Japanese but an amalgam of Mik and Moi the French for Me. Mikmoi, I am Mik.

He told me more about his website and how he came to become a perfumer. His studies with Mandy Aftel in natural perfumery and with Yosh Han have been invaluable in his journey into his new olfactory passion.  Before our visit came to an end Mik invited me for a visit to his studio. So perfume has again worked it’s magic in my life and brought a new friend to me. I look forward to many more meetings with Mik and a chance to have a proper sit-down interview to share with you. For any of you who are in the Seattle area Mik will be at the Seattle Artisan Fragrance Salon in Seattle next weekend.

A wonderful video of the launch of Mikmoi at Artisan Fragrance Salon.

MIKMOI website: http://www.mikmoi.com/

18 Comments

  1. Utterly delightful sounding meeting and over Ritual Coffee.

    • Mary!! Yes it was delightful meeting Mik. And always delightful when you stop by too.

  2. How fortuitous for you to enjoy such a delightful get together with a perfumer! And he was a fellow upstate New Yorker like me! And he studied with Mandy and Yosh? Amazing! (I read Essence and Alchemy at least a half dozen times in one month as naturals are my passion!). Loved this post!

  3. Dearest Lanier
    What a splendid afternoon engagement that sounds.
    Mikoi is a seriously fascinating and very fragrant fellow by the sounds of things and I look forward to hearing much more about him in your forthcoming interview.
    Though The Dandy doesn’t do coffee, I’m jealous of that little pop up and would love to take tea there one day…
    Yours ever
    The Perfumed Dandy

    • They don’t serve tea I am afraid but I make a fair pot of tea myself and will be happy to have you over for tea on your next visit to the city of Saint Frances. We will have tea in my bay window and looks down on the heathens below in the park drinking their coffee.

      • Dearest Mr Lanier
        That sounds most eminently civilised. The Dandy will be only too delighted to accepted your generous invitation the next time he finds himself on your West Coast!
        Yours ever
        The Perfumed Dandy

  4. Mikmoi – now I get it! How fascinating, and I love the elegant packaging. I know this sounds gauche but it looks good enough to eat. And, that “pop up” coffee spot has got it going on – design-wise. Can’t wait to hear more and as a denizen of your West Coast I’m going to invite myself over for a cup of tea! xox, V

    • The tea pot is on Miss V. And you are welcome any time. I mean that!!

  5. It must be so thrilling to launch your own fragrance. It seems like Mik’s life has culminated in that one beautiful bottle. How exciting for him. I like the way you turned around at the same time when you finally met. Very cute. He sounds like a kindred spirit, Lanier.

    • Oh his bottles are amazing. I will get into that with the interview. Yes Mik is a cool guy!

  6. I’m very excited that San Francisco became home to onemore niche brand. I hope Mikmoi’s perfumes will be great.

    • They are really great Undina. There really are a lot of perfumers here in The City. That is exciting!

  7. Great teachers, great student. Please keep us up-to-date with his output.

  8. He sounds like an interesting guy. I look forward to reading a more in depth interview of him. I like coffee but I drink far more tea so when you put the kettle on make sure it’s a big one because I’m coming over too. 😉

    • The super huge kettle is on and scones and biscuits are set out for our olfactory tea party.

  9. Whenever I read your texts the Seven Degrees of Separation come to my mind as easily as air gets to the brain. Of course one may say borrowed emotions or even cheap thrills. But for me it is an opportunity to get to know something/someone I would not in real life, for one thing I don’t live in SF. so, I am happy for the good time you’ve had meeting a perfumer, delightful, and kind enogh to share it with us. By the way, do you know Encre Noire? Together with Oscar for men it is halfway to paradise, although, OFM Is Paradise, isn’t?

    • Jose thank you! Yes I know Encre Noire and I agree with you in your comparison with our beloved Oscar. Paradise indeed.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment

  • Blog Stats

    • 295,871 hits