NOT TONIGHT ~ I HAVE A ROYAL HEADACHE! ~ Eau de Cologne Imperiale Guerlain

When  I think of Eau de Cologne Imperiale Guerlain, which was created for the Empress  Eugenie of France to cure her headaches, I am reminded of the remarkably  beautiful Loretta Young who played her in the 1938 film “Suez”. I saw that film  one rainy afternoon on T.V. when I was a kid and her ethereal beauty in  ravishing hoop skirts (Which the empress poularized in the 1860’s) arrested my  imagination. I never forgot her.

(LORETTA YOUNG ~ SUEZ 1938)

To  think that this perfume has endured for 152 years is amazing. Once I tried it  for myself, I found it entrancing as a waltz with the Empress Eugenie herself.  It is definitely a uni-sex fragrance that is light and refreshing. This is a  REAL Citrus Eau de Cologne in the most classic sense, and not at all complex but  rather straight forward linear in its olfactory performance. Even with its  romantic history I would not classify it as romantic heavy hitter perfume but  rather a practical everyday down to earth citrus. Bright and pleasing all around  with a good projection and I would say short to medium longevity.

It  is not for everyone but rather for those interested in collecting something  historic with a romantic story behind it. And, the bottle is beautiful!

Four  gold stars ****

3 Comments

  1. How funny! I thought you weren’t doing a blog today because you had a headache. I just popped by to hope you got better, migraines are awful.
    No, I don’t suffer them but I do get sinus.
    Wasn’t Loretta Young the BOMB?
    Portia xx

    • LOL no sweet Portia I am fine….but poor Empress Eugenie, I think that last headache killed her.

  2. Reblogged this on hisandhersfragrances.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Stats

    • 229,548 hits