HEDDY HOOPER’S HOLLYWOOD! ~ Lanier at Scent Bar

heddyhoopershollywoodhq1

Darlings! This is Heddy Hooper from Hollywood bringing you all the latest steaming hot dish on the stars and tinsel town. Big news from Rome darlings, Imperium International star Audrey Taylor who is filming “Incoerente!” (“Incoherent!”) for Italian director Enrico Felluci just announced that she and hubby of seven years Richard Bourbon are heading for a split. I for one am completely shocked at the news.

00066506_000

It seems only yesterday that the much, much married Taylor who snatched Bourbon from his then wife Cecily on the set of the troubled “Pompiea” proclaimed, “Richard and I are forever lovely in love.” Felluci whose film is about a mad woman, who flies to Rome to try to seduce the Pope, is keeping a lid on things at Cinecittà with a closed set. As for the battling Bourbons they have gone from incoherent to incognito. Neither one could be reached for a comment.

Now darlings for some really exciting news! Perfumeista Lanier Smith and an unidentified perfume Pal were spotted all over Hollywood last week. I was determined to get an interview with the elusive Mr. Lanier, or at least a statement. My sources kept me posted with up dates of his whereabouts.

 84914e8b1f9984bd0b8640c0f5112229

 “He is at the Hollywood Reservoir with Vickie Lester”  “He is in Los Feliz lunching at Little Dom’s.” “He’s at the Getty; he’s at The Cinerama Dome; the Griffith Park Observatory, Venice Beach! He is eating lunch with Mickey Mouse at the Blue Bayou at Disneyland!!”

Darlings, all those calls were always a little too late and I kept missing the man! Finally one snoop got me my scoop.

“Heddy he is heading east from Beverly Hills on Beverly Boulevard in a silver Honda. I think he is going to Scent Bar.

I had my driver Parker bring around the motorcycle with the sidecar. I put some extra pins in my hat and off we sped to intercept Lanier and get my interview.

Scent Bar is THE place to buy your perfume in Los Angeles. Forget Nieman’s, Barney’s, Macy’s, or any boutique on Rodeo Drive, as far as the stars are concerned it is all about Scent Bar. Don’t believe me? Just ask Katie Puckrik!

As luck would have it I nearly missed Mr. Smith. I just managed to catch up with him just as he was leaving the perfume palace to the stars. The usually shy guy must have been high on floral fumes from his visit to Scent Bar because he was actually happy to see a member of the third estate and agreed to an impromptu sidewalk interview as long as there were not photos. (The ever present Paparazzi was lurking and got one anyway that cost me a pretty penny!)

 17873_1248689130380_7526652_n

“So Lanier, my I call you Lanier? What brings you to Scent Bar?”

“Perfume Heddy, what ever else could it be? I am on a very short trip to Los Angles and no trip to this city would be complete for anyone with a nose and good taste with out a visit to the premiere fragrance shop in all of Southern California.”

 new_sb_front

“How was it? Fun I bet?”

Lanier was all grins. “Fun is not the word. Exciting isn’t even a good description. For someone like me who has been reading about the place and watching Katie Puckrik do her videos from Scent Bar, well,  it is like going to church!”

“Church, my goodness, tell me more.”

“I have purchased a perfume from Scent Bar’s online shop Lucky Scent and I found it to be a great experience. I even mentioned to Laura Johnson who helped me today what a great online shopping experience I had with them. They even include a lovely array of samples with a purchase. And by the way I have to tell you that the beautiful and very gracious Laura was so much fun to meet, she is movie star pretty and so knowledgeable about perfume. Bright, fun and helpful, Laura is a real asset to Scent Bar.

 Laura at sent bar

The very lovely Laura at Scent Bar

  Look, when we first walked in I was a little overwhelmed by what I saw. The walls are lined with the most exquisite array of niche perfumes. I did see some mainstream perfumes like Midnight In Paris for example, but for the most part it is all about the very special and unique in the scent world. Laura was helping a handsome man at the counter but found the time to welcome Lane and me when we came in and invited us to explore.

All the bottles are divided and labeled under olfactory groups, Incense, Spice, Sweet, Gourmand, leather, etc. So right off the bat if you know what you like smell wise then you can narrow your search to what you gravitate towards. As for me, yes I of course have my group favorites but I just have to smell everything.

When Laura finished with her client she introduced herself and showed us around the store. I asked her if she had any of the Frank Los Angeles in stock since No.2 had been my online purchase and I wanted to explore the line further. She told me that the line is out of stock at the moment because it is being redesigned. She inquired about our particular tastes and was happy to show us some really interesting choices. Lane’s signature scent is Sycamore by Chanel so Laura showed him a great selection of perfumes that were right up his alley. I tested so many but found that my favorite on this too short of a visit was Padparadscha by Satellite. Satellite is a fabulous jewelry house in Paris, and Padparadscha which is the exact color of a Padparadscha sapphire is a spicy wonderful perfume with a great red chili pepper note that spoke to me on the spot. So I bought a bottle.”

 nd.4340

Lanier offered his wrist for me to smell and I have to agree that Padparadscha is a fabulous perfume darlings!

“Oh yummy! And how are the prices?” I asked.

 springint

“Great Heddy, there is something at Scent Bar to fit every budget from the modest to mega-star.” I have to tell you and all your readers that Scent Bar is a real winner. Before we left Laura offered to make up some takeaway samples of any perfume we liked. Isn’t that fabulous? So both Lane and I have plenty to test and explore when we get home. Anyone who loves perfume must stop in when they are in L.A.. I was so impressed and will make sure to visit every time I come to Los Angles.”

Lanier kissed the air near my cheek and without a word was off in the silver Honda for points unknown in the land of the Lotus Eaters before he heads back north to Bagdad by the Bay.

Until next time, this is Heddy Hooper signing off.  And remember darlings, if the dirt is flying in Hollywood, I’ll be there with my catcher’s mitt.

 Heddy

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           SCENT BAR

7405 Beverly Blvd .

Los Angeles CA 90036

Phone: 323 782 8300

Hours
Mon-Sat 11-7
Sun 12-5

website: Lucky Scent ~ http://www.luckyscent.com/

27 Comments

  1. Oh, elusive and beautifully scented one! I am sitting with my wrists wreathed in Mohur, evocative (I think) of our sparkling day hiking in the fir and sage of the Hollywood Hills – I might have to head over to Scent Bar and buy myself a barrel! xox, Vickie

    • Isn’t Mohur the best!! I was amazed to find out that Heddy’s spies spotted us on our hike in the Hollywood Hills! If you go to Scent Bar give my best to Laura. (and look for my autograph in the guest book!)

  2. Padparadscha is very nice. I have a sample. It has a great spicy aspect to it, doesn’t it?
    Do you find it difficult to be a celebrity with the press hounding you all the time?

    • I know! Padparadscha is a real spicy treat. Perfect for a night out at an Indian restaurant. Really for me there is no problem with the press. I had no idea I was being stalked by Heddy Hooper until I read her column in the paper this morning. As for the paparazzi, I find it is just best to ignore them.
      Cheers poodle!

  3. I’ve got a story for you, Lanier. Walked into the Sephora in Calgary, and when I squealed in delight at the newly available Atelier line, what I thought was a SA asked, “Oh, you know this line? How have you heard of it?” (Now, just to give some context, NO S.A. in my neck of the woods has heard of the term, but for some reason I thought I’d give it one more try.) Me: Ummmm, have you ever heard of a perfumista? Him: Yes I have. I’m the PR rep for Atelier, and I’m visiting from New York for the day. Me: (big grin developing…) You mean, if I told you I got a great deal on a bottle of Byredo Pulp this week, you’d actually know what I was talking about? Him: I love that line!

    I had the grandest time talking to him about Sniffa, over-hyped brands, Francis Kurkdjian and Frederic Malle, the works. It. Was. Heaven.

    Anyway, the reason I brought this up was because he said, “You know, as good as the perfume shopping is in New York, the place I really think you need to visit is the Scent Bar in LA.” I assured him that someday I would.

    • That is a great story Dionne!! It takes a perfumista to know a perfumista. Thank you so much for sharing it. And he is right, you must visit Scent Bar.

  4. That was a fun read! 🙂 I’d love to visit Scent Bar some day. I like the idea of organizing the perfumes by genre, rather than by line.

  5. What a treat, indeed. Needless to say for me the best part was lunch with MM at BB at D. Of course mad woman trying to seduce the pope is also very hot, or should I say cool, too. How i wish I could go to the Scent Bar, wouldn’t even mind Katie, but I do love her, you know? Just that she always leaves me wanting for more. She says she doesn’t have the time… Well, congrats to you, Mr Elusive, and to the an unidentified perfume friend.
    SP.: so good reading again!

  6. Great story! Thank you for sharing.
    It’s ironic that I’ve been to Harrods and MinNY but still haven’t been to the Scent Bar. But I will visit it one day, I’m sure of it.

  7. Oh, those paparazzi! At least they caught you at a very flattering angle! How lucky!! (Though, it must be said, all angles look pretty good from here.) As for The Scent Bar, it does look like it’s organized in such a way that even I could make sense of things. One day I’ll drop by and I’ll be sure to tell them, Lanier sent me. 🙂

    • Thanks ! You will love it there, so many gripping perfumes to scent a gripping life.

  8. What a marvelous review of your Hollywood happenings and Scentbar. I can’t wait to go one day as well. Enjoy the Padparadscha. Loved Heddy Hopper since I was a little girl.

    • Mary! Yes Heddy Hooper (Hedda Hopper) was a real character wasn’t she. You will adore Scent Bar when you get down there. So go soon!

  9. Each and every time I read one of your essays, I grin! I love your wit. I love your banter. I love your passion. Fabulous report and images, too. Heddy + Lanier + fragrance = bliss. Hooray for Hollywood, indeed. Gushing already, I’ve added the Scent Bar to my “California Dreaming” list. The shop looks super cute. Especially the stools for tired feet and hours of play! T. (Here’s a testing question for you. Do you sniff coffee beans in between scents? Or something else? Do you have a secret “cleanser” up your sleeve?!)

    • I not only sniff coffee beans but I have champagne and caviar when I am shopping and testing perfumes. At least that is what my P.R. guy tells me I should say. Theadora, you are a Darling! Hugs Lanier

  10. Dearest Heddy

    Thank you so much for keeping tabs on our Mr Lanier whilst he was on his vacation… you know how he likes to go under cover at these times!

    It’s so reassuring to know that your skills honed over many a long year on the celebrity hunt meant you were able to have your eye on the fragrant man and get this exclusive interview back to us his adoring fans.

    I can already hear the feet of Mr L’s followers stampeding to the scent bar to get their fix of his latest fragrance… and I’m over here in the Old World!!

    Now, do tell me how was the scent you smelt on the great man?

    Yours ever
    The Perfumed Dandy

    • Darling Dandy!
      You really should come to Hollywood dear man. This town could use some British charm. Nothing like you has rolled into Tinsel Town since Stewart Granger and Michael Wiliding.
      To answer your question, did get a whiff of Lanier when we had our chat. He smelled of the elusive smell of stardust and Chanel with a touch of Edith Head.

      • Dearest H
        Are you suggesting that Mr Lanier is doing Head these days! I say!!
        As for that trip to Hollywood, I will get my people to talk to your people and see if there’s an arrangement that can be put in place…
        Do say hello to L is you see him…
        Yours ever
        The Perfumed Dandy

  11. gosh!

    you. were. here.

    we thought there was something a Tiny Bit more glam about L.A these past few hours.

    and Katie Puckrick! That name hasn’t passed our cerebral cortex since Yoof TV in england (ahem – many) years ago.

    thank you for bringing her back to our screens.

    • How did I miss TeamGloria on my trip to Hollywood? Next time for sure. And do check out Katie’s perfume youtube page. Katie Puckrik Smells

  12. Fantabulous. I felt like I was there my dear. And now of course you have created a lemming with your new purchase. Some day too I’ll make the trek to Scent Bar the mecca of perfumeland!

  13. You went hiking?!?!

    • Yes I did in Beachwood Canyon around the old Mulholland dam right below the old Hollywood sign and Madonna’s old house. It was windy, clear and wonderful.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Stats

    • 212,396 hits