NAKED DESIRE ~ Nude for Men by Bijan

BIJAN

(PRESS THE RED AND WHITE BUTTON TO PLAY ME)

Spanish Gardenias released their magic at midnight in a garden in Madrid, fragrant with the promise of illicit love.  The pale ginger moon of Spain hung just above the horizon in a sky of velvet indigo. Doña Sol des Muire strumed her guitar and watched Juan Gallardo asleep in a chair near the fountain.   Beyond the patio arches the flowers of garden  permeated the air with an invisible note of seduction just as Doña Sol began her song to the sleeping matador.

PLAY SOMETHING 2

    Her voice filled the night with a song of a green moon and bad luck. Her song she told the sleeping Juan that even though she wants him she can not love him. She warned  him in her melodic voice  that to love her is to tumble into damnation and death. His passion for her in the evening will surely lead to his death in the afternoon. The unconscious Juan heard none of it, and if he were awake he would not have believed a word of her song, for he was already ensnared as she wound  him within her silken web of longing in the garden of the Spanish gardenias.

 TYRONE POWER BLOOD AND SAND 1941

With one last flourish of her read lacquered nails over the guitar strings her song was finished. A cool and distant smile came to her lips as she looked down at Juan and contemplated his fate that was her destiny.

RITA HAYWORTH BLOOD AND SAND 1941

From a dark corner of the garden a voice spoke very low and soft.

“That’s it Rita, hold that look. Good…..good…… CUT. That’s a wrap.”

Tyrone Power opened one eye and smiled up at Rita Hayworth. She lent down to him and her Titian hair tumbled forward, she tweaked his nose and laughed.

In an hour the set was deserted and only the work light in the center of the stage glowed as a ghost.  Just as midnight came over the sound stage the paper flowers in the fake garden stirred to sudden life, the silk gardenias pumped the stale atmosphere full of magic and from somewhere in the darkness a phantom guitar strumed Verde Luna.

Bijan Nude for men has within its juice, an old Hollywood feel of glamour. The woody floral musk is something that Tyrone Power or Errol Flynn might have worn on a night out at Ciro’s or the Coconut Grove. Here the blending of Musk, with citrus, woods, amber and gardenia works very well to create an ambiance of male sexuality and quiet power.  The white flower scent of the gardenia is muted by the woods in the opening giving it a smooth masculinity you don’t often find from gardenia perfumes. As it progresses the citrus notes warm it up a bit bringing in a warm summer evening feeling. You could be in Spain, or in Southern California, it is a Mediterranean feeling that comes with the citrus. The dry down is even warmer and rather cozy thanks to the solid musk and amber blending into the perfume. Nude is noteworthy and memorable.

9_bijan_nude_for_men2

Released in 2007 Bijan Nude an insinuatingly subtle masculine perfume that works well for me, I would even say it has a romantic feeling about it. There is a good projection and lasts on my skin a good six to seven hours. Nude is very inexpensive and proves that a good perfume can come at a reasonable price.

Nude is a head turner in the best way. On several occasions I have been asked. “What is that wonderful scent you are wearing?”

“Nude” I say with a cool and distant smile. “I am wearing nothing but Nude.”

bijan_ad_nude

FIVE GOLD STARS *****

19 Comments

  1. ““Nude” I say with a cool and distant smile. “I am wearing nothing but Nude.”” — Heh, that made me smile.

    This sounds like a lovely fragrance. I happen to think Bijan is sadly unappreciated as a men’s cologne line. Or perhaps, just never considered at all; demodé and seen as cheap, since it can often be found at places like TJ Maxx. My father wears all the old-time classics and, some years ago, he bought Bijan (black bottle). To my surprise, it smells damn good on him (and me). And it certainly smells better than some of the Boucheron, new Cartier, Hermès or other high-end (but not niche) fragrances that he owns. I shall have to see about finding Nude and giving it a sniff. Thank you for a lovely review. It always makes me happy to see the gorgeous, tragic Rita. xoxo

    • I have the Black too and have reviewed it as well. Also a winner in my book. Like I said High cost isn’t a guarantee of high quality and there are lots of low cost perfumes that are wonderful. Yes Bijan is unappreciated but that just means there is more for me (I say with a cool and distant smile).

  2. Ravishingly beautiful and deliriously handsome!

    • Yes Mary and so are Rita Hayworth and Tyrone Power! (wink)

  3. I’ve always loved the scent of them — and they used to be in gardens here always — but now, not so much. I have sent you a poster via email of racy Rudolph Valentino in the 1922 (Pre-Hays Code) version. xox, V

    • What? Gardenias are becoming rare in Southern California? there should be a law against that! I love the poster by the way… but you already know that.

  4. As always with your cinematic scent reviews it’s such a dilemma as to whether I come away urgent to sample the film or the fragrance more.

    The Titan and Titian-haired Rita and the butter-wouldn’t-melt but soon-to-be-deflowered Tyrone or a reasonably priced and evocative ladle full of nudity. What a choice?

    Excellence under the light of ginger and green moons!

    • Why not wear the perfume and watch the movie? But I must tell you the movie packs more sexual heat than the perfume. Put “Blood and Sand” on your must see list.

  5. Just occurred to me that the Bijan glossy ad looks like an exercise in Rita and Tyrone lite…

    • Oh now isn’t that interesting and you are so very right! I would take Rita and Ty over those two in the ad any day!

  6. Reality-fiction, fiction-reality… a dream, perhaps? Lovely scene. Why do Latins, Italian and Spanish, always come to mind when speaking of love, warm sensuality, plain desire? Remember Allen’s Everything you always wanted to know about sex? I can’t halp remember the scene in Amadeus in which “Mozart” askes why everything (in opera) has to be in Italian, Italian marble to the tons? And yet they seem to fascinate us all till this day. And to prove that thare are the Armanis, Versaces, bulgaris, Pradas pollulation our minds with their appeal, with their sex appeal. Throw the first stone who, men or women ( or to reapet Elizabeth Taylor’s line about Sebastian – men, women, children, animal, vegetable and mineral ) never thought of, at mid night in Rome, just climb into Fontana di trevi? Never mind the afterwards. It is almost like an instinct, but it is not. We’ve learnt all this. Coming back to the future … what you say also reminds me the now classic CK’s jeans add with Brook Shields … “I am wearing nothing but Nude.”

    It is always a big pleasure to read your articles. Parabéns! Bravo !

    • Jose! How poetic and insightful. And how very kind you are. Thank you so much.

  7. Ah! Another gorgeous post. Another scent and flick to try. (I also loved Rita’s gown and necklace!) Dreamy. Your last line was brilliant. Timing, too. I think you should create a guide to fragrances, really. Perhaps one is in the works? I’d purchase it and spread the word in a heart beat. Thanks for the moment of escape! T.

    • Thank you Theadora and oh but you are sweet! I am by no means in the expert arena to create such a guide…it is just what hits me when I smell them. But that is such a lovely thought for you to share.

  8. The bottles were always so striking! Instantly recognizable. The font too.

    Another great post, Lanier! Looks like 2013 is getting off to a good start 🙂

  9. I like reading your reviews regardless of the actual perfume you’re reviewing (we’re interested in different things, I pay almost no attention to masculine fragrances concentrating more on feminine ans unisex). But with this one I got curious because I liked the bottle. After reading more reviews I think that this one isn’t for me (I do not lke “soap-y” in my perfumes) but still enjoyed reading your post.

    • Thanks Undina. There is by the way also a feminine version of Nude.

  10. […] my friend Lanier NAKED DESIRE ~ Nude for Men by Bijan « SCENTS MEMORY quipped, “He’s just checking for […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Stats

    • 212,443 hits