MOVIES ITALIAN STYLE ~ Aqva Pour Homme Marine Bvlgari

bvlgari

“Tu vuò fa l’ americano!
mmericano! mmericano
siente a me, chi t’ ho fa fa?
tu vuoi vivere alla moda
ma se bevi whisky and soda
po’ te sente ‘e disturbà.”

Italy in the 1950’s and 60’s as seen in the movies was such a wonderful place, one wonders if it really existed. A place where Sophia Loren raised her precocious nephew on the island of Capri and fell in love with Clark Gable, or the Italy of Gina Lollobrigida dancing the night away with Rock Hudson on the Italian Riviera. The cinema Italy of De Sica, and his Gold of Naples, or Luchino Visconti’s gorgeous Rocco and His Brothers. And then there is the land of Fellini, from Il Vitelloni through the Dolce Vita of the Via Veneto to the dreams and magic of Juliet and her spirits.

With each film visit it is breathtaking and seductive and like Katherine Hepburn’s first view of Venice in Summertime it is love at first sight no matter how many times you see it.

 

 One visits Italy in the movies be they American or Italian films and one enters into a place so incredibly alive. It is a land that is vibrant and so full of color, passion and drama that it almost hurts the heart to hold it all in without crying. A place where life seems to bubble forth in pure joy like the never ending waters of the Fontana di Trevi. Toss your three coins in and you will always return to il cinema d’Italia.

Aqva Pour Homme Marine Bvlgari for Men takes me to this Italy every time I wear it. It  is like a refreshing spray of the Adriatic Sea on your skin while skiing behind a beautiful vintage 1959 speedboat off of Rimini. It is a movie in itself and a tour of Italy from Sicily to LakeComo. You blast off with the Italian Grapefruit and Neroli opening that I love so much. Then it segues into savory rosemary freshly picked from the gardens of the Emilia Romagna.  Salty seaweed from the bay of Naples and water notes that are quite nice and sophisticated. At the end, in the dry down you are in the sunset of the scent of lingering cedar that remind me of the umbrella pines around Torre Astura. You may end up humming “Tu vuo fa l Americano” yet you will feel so Italian doing it.

 

It is  so fresh and light yet lasts a good eight hours or so. It just puts me in mind of Italy in the late 50’s, fun, bright, and jazzy. A definite spring to summer scent and with a few spays you are staring in your own Vittorio De Sica movie.

 bvlgari-pour-homme-marine

Four gold stars ****

19 Comments

  1. Fantastico!

  2. Very beautiful post! Thank you in the name of my compatriots!

    • You are welcome Roberto. I could never hide how much I love Italy and her people. Il mio cuore vive in Italia.

  3. Hey! Two posts??? How did I miss these! So, Italy of the 50s and 60s like Paris of the 20s? Whatever it was I’ll take Roman sunshine, Sophia Loren in anything, and the scent of grapefruit and Neroli over this pouring rain any day. oxo, V

    • Cheer up mia cara we have some “Roman” sunshine up here today and I am sending it south for you. The Parma Sisters are still alive and loving their new home. Lane took the two orphans in the storm on Friday. They are safe now. Grazie mille!

  4. What wonderful cinematography especially ‘the Warner brothers crew’ working on ‘Rome Adventure’. The Florence shot should be shown as a still to every film school rookie who has ambitions only to emulate Avatar. How sad that film itself, the actual physical embodiment of the art form, is almost no more. Italy may never look as well again as she did in this honey infused stock.

    • I agree absolutely. I am just so thankful we have these films to revisit. But then there is always the real Italy and it never disappoints.

  5. I love these movies. The light, the flawless makeup. Truly fabulous! Thank you!

    • You are welcome baconbiscuit! Yes they are wonderful old films.

  6. I do not like old films but you made me smile: I remember watching some of those when I was a child. And I love that song!

    • That is odd Undina I was just talking to old films this morning and they told me they adore you. For a new film on Italy try “The Talented Mr. Ripley” and that song you like is in it too!

  7. I just blindly bought Bulgari Pour Homme at CVS. I’m still deciding whether I like it or not.

    • Sometimes it takes a while to discover if you are a match to a fragrance. There are some for me that took a while to get comfortable with. I hope it clicks for you.

  8. So many great clips! What a treat! I’m a huge Fellini fan so it’s nice to see that little homage to him with including JULIET OF THE SPIRITS in the mix. Love that Troy Donahue film clip… I need to see that!

    • oh yeah Rome Adventure is a treat. Not just Rome, It covers most of the north too! Also Summertime with Hepburn is a gem.

  9. They just don’t make them like this anymore do they? But how intoxicating is that Neroli! Speaking of Italian films and perfumes, I absolutely adore the Dolce & Gabbana commercial for Light Blue. I have no idea of the qualities in this fragrance, what fragrance, because of the quality in the filming – sun drenched blue diamond waters . . . Parla Mi D’amore for sure!

    • Oh by Jupiter’s stone I know just what you mean! And then there is that little Fiat commercial where they are all diving into the sea to come to America.WHY? Why leave Italy it is so beautiful!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Stats

    • 226,224 hits