I DREAM OF GENIE ~ Al Oudh by L’Artisan Parfumeur Paris

Deep in the desert between the rose red city of the dead and Aqaba is the fabled Wadi Rum, where in I found myself standing before the tent of a Bedouin Sheikh. The great royal blue curtains heavy with gold embroidery and pearls the size of cherry pits parted to reveal the most inner sanctum of the cool spacious palatial tent. Here far from the Western world and deep into the mysterious desert of Jordan I entered upon a dream beyond those of Scheherazade, T. E. Laurence or even the great Darius of Persia.

 

(WADI RUM JORDAN)

I stood alone in listening to soft voices of the desert jinn carried from the heart of the desert upon the wind to my ears. They whispered scented words of magic and wishes and wonders beyond the dreams of kings. The wind rose and fluttered the roof of the tent and made the tent polls of myrrh wood to creak and sway gently. Tiny bells like rain on the hot sand broke the air and urged me on deeper into the tent. A brassier in the center of the tent burned in amber and crimson flame revealing just beyond it a small myrtle wood chest intricately studded in ivory and gold.  I knelt on cushions of indigo silk and with hesitant hands opened the box. Within lay a glittering glass bottle of golden liquid. As I reached for it the tent began to swirl in heady waves as though I and all about me were being lifted on the wings of a great bird to be carried to another world.

I opened the bottle and the air about me changed instantly and transformed the dry warm night of the desert into magic filled with music and desire. I blinked… there before me stood a Jinn. Magnificent in form and enticing in his smile he leaned toward me and winked. I was so startled by the apparition that I dropped the bottle spilling what remained of the golden juice.

“My son you have set me free and for this I grant you….” His voice was rich and deep and full of the promise of all things imagined and many more things undreamed of.

“Three wishes?” I managed to squeak out.

A well manicured brow shot up as he cocked his head to one side. “No! I give nothing so common as a wish for you my lord of my emancipation. But rather, I give this.”   He picked up the empty bottle held it out to me.

“An empty bottle?” very disappointed.

The Jinn chuckled causing the walls of the tent to flap lightly… and beyond them there were tiny silvery giggles from the moonless night.  He put the bottle to his lips and filled the chamber with his breath then capped it quick as lightning with a golden seven sided stopper. The Jinn held it before me and dropped it into my open hand. In a flash of fire and rain he was gone. I looked down at the bottle with its red Arabian grillwork and read the words emblazed in warm buttery gold letters. “Al Oudh ~ Eau de Parfum.”

The magic held within Al Oudh by L’Artisan Parfumeur Paris is indeed like a dream. It opens with the delicious delights of pink pepper, Dates, dried fruits, caraway, cardamom and orange blossoms. They hang in the air about six glorious seconds only to be violently embraced and seduced like Velma Banky by Rudolph Valentino in The Sheik.

(THE FIRST VALENTINO, RUDOLPH ~ THE SHEIK 1921)

A beatific incense, elegant agar wood (Oud) and rich dark sexy leather, make up the heady scrumptious almost religious concoction full of church and sin, sex and redemption that takes over here. This center is supported by iris, saffron, Neroli, and rose. Yes Al Oudh is a caravan of oriental exotics poised to poison you with delirious olfactory pleasures. This Parfum packs a punch not meant for those who prance and dance lightly in green fields covered in laundry lines of drying white cotton sheets and shirts. The ever evolving dry down meets this caravan of pleasure with its own treasures from the east. Sandalwood, Tonka beans, vanilla and the dirty sexy little civet come to the orgy with a grounding musk, rapturous patchouli, rich caramelized myrrh all encased in a fine Cedar.

Yet even hours into this fragrance you never loose the gloria in excelsis which is the trinity of incense, Oud and Leather.

A word to the wise on this one, as with most perfumes as compared to Eau de Toilettes a very little goes a very long way. So be gentle when you apply. For men one spritz will do the job. Two will kill at ten paces. And believe me boys it will last all day and well into the night so on longevity it is a stunner. Not for work only for special events or evening wear. As for silage there it gets gold stars too.

I must thank and acknowledge my friend Hillary at Barney’s New York who guided me to this wonderful perfume. Her expertise is without compare and she is both gracious and beautiful. If you are ever in San Francisco go by Barney’s and say hello to Hillary. She will be your very own personal Jinn and find you just the right fragrance to fulfill your every wish.

FIVE PLATINUM STARS *****

19 Comments

  1. I have been craving a bottle of this since my sample ran out – I think it may just be the bottle I buy at the end of the month in London – it is a beauty! And your wonderful description has only made me fall in love with the memory I have of it even more! Great write up 😀

    • I truly respect your point of view and this note from you made my day. Yes it is a scrumptious delight fit for a thousand and one nights of wear. I know how you feel when you are craving a scent such as this…the end of the month can’t come soon enough!

      • Thanks lanier I really appreciate that 😀
        This review is awesome – and yep, I’m craving so much now. I’ve been rattling my brains as to what to treat myself to on my trip to London and I think this is it. If it turns out something else catches my eye – I’ll be SURE to buy this in Paris on my holidays in December. An awesome perfume, so great purchase!

  2. You have made this sound incredibly sexy. I can tell its something I would love and something that my hubby would run away from. He’s one of the “fresh-ocean-breezes-with-a-twist-of-citrus-types”.
    I just want to say that I really enjoy reading your blog. I love the way you write and think you’re a great storyteller. I also think I need a sample of this.

    • It is very very sexy and intense. Most men are “Fresh” I find. But there is adventure to be found once you start to explore the world of fragrance.
      Poodle you are a sweetheart thank you for your very lovely thoughts about my brain and my string of words.

  3. A story caught in a perfume bottle – YOU are ingenious. Thank you, Mister Lanier. xox, V

    • Oh …indeed it was trapped in that perfume bottle, wasn’t it.
      Often when I write these things I have no idea what I am going to say or where to start. In this case all I could see when I started to percolate on the idea last night was the tent. Then this morning I sat down at the computer and I could see the entrance to the tent. The first line I wrote was ” The great royal blue curtains heavy with gold embroidery and pearls the size of cherry pits parted”
      I had no clue what was behind that curtain let alone a Jinn! I just listen to that man who has all the stories up there in the attic of my brain. It was the same when I was a painter. I would finish a painting and then wonder how I had done it. I guess you go to a place in the act of creating. A transcendental place where there is a magic genie.
      I am so happy you liked it.

  4. Beautiful! You’re certain you don’t want to compile all these lovely reviews into one amazing tome? I’m buying should you ever decide to go to print 🙂

    • Marie you flatter me to no end! It is a thought, but I woudn’t know where to begin. You can print them out and if we ever meet I will sign the “book” for you.

  5. Saffron, incense, leather, oud, dried fruits, cardamom, iris, patchouli, sandalwood? Lanier, you are singing my tune, because this is the kind of stuff that sings on my skin. Men schmen….. count me in as one of the women who would likely rock this. I’m adding to my November sample list.

    • Most definitely you can rock it. I forgot to mention it is for both women and men! I know it will sing the song of the Jinn on your skin.

  6. It’s a very well told story! I started reading half absent-mindedly but it pulled me in.
    I will try it the next time I’m at Barney’s.

  7. I love oud, but am wary of leather…but your review makes me ever so intriqued. Thanks for the lovely review and for creating another that I must sample!

    • Don’t worry about the leather. It isn’t harsh like in Knize 10 but a rich creamy leather. So go on, pull back the curtains to the tent and see what the Jinn has for you!

  8. Midnight at the oasis indeed! Loved every word of this rich and exotic prose and now I want to run away to live life in the bottle of this wonderful genie!

    • There is plenty of room inside that bottle… I don’t know how it works but the inside is much larger than it looks from the outside! So happy you enjoyed the post.

  9. […] When I wrote my review of Al Oudh by L’Artisan Parfumeur: https://sentsmemory.wordpress.com/2012/11/05/i-dream-of-genie-al-oudh-by-lartisan-parfumeur-paris/ Hilary who represents the perfume house at Barney’s sent the review along to the powers that be […]

  10. […] Al Oudh by L’Artisan Parfumeur, with a recommended dosage of “Spritz x 4 at sundown’. Are […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Stats

    • 224,740 hits