“It smells to heaven, It hath the primal eldest curse upon’t!” ~ Fracas for Men

DREADFUL is the kindest word I can come up with for Robert Piguet’s Fracas for Men. Oh my bloody stars it is like smelling Freon mixed with sewage from Tijuana that has been fermenting in an old cooler for about six weeks in the Mojave Desert. I have passed homeless men on the street that smell better than this travesty.


I did a little research and there is a reason behind why it smells so bad. It seems this was created when Piguet was sold to a company called, Alfin Inc solely to cash in on the fame of Fracas for Women. When the company was sold Fashion Fragrances & Cosmetics Ltd. in 1995 this formula was dropped as a phony Piguet from the line. It was considered not a legitimate creation of the house of Robert Piguet by those in the know.


I won’t even bother to go into the notes since they are so noxious that I could not identify a single one as I ran screaming for the shower. The bottle is some kind of pseudo deco design with a huge ugly plastic cap. It shouts “I am cheap, loud and classless and I don’t care!” through a bull horn as it rides on a unicycle down the center of Rip-off Avenue. Fracas for Men is the grand marshal of the bad taste parade.

NO STARS! (if you see this bottle call hazmat asap!)

21 Comments

  1. That might be one of the funniest yet most scathing reviews of anything I’ve ever read, Lanier.

    • Now that makes me smile! When I love something I am nice…when I hate something I am even better.

  2. He He he!
    I don’t hate this like you do but i love that you don’t like it at all .
    portia xx

  3. Oh, how I love your way with words! What a picture you painted for us! You had me laughing and shuddering at the same time 🙂

    • Sounds like I gave you a case of the heebee jeebees! Like Phyllis Diller always used to say…Ahhhhh HAAAA HAAAA HAAAAAA!

  4. Great post mate ! Thanks for the heads up on this ! Agree on the bottle ! Ghastly . I do own 2 from the house and they are great ! I have smelt Fracas for her and it’s unbearably sweet for my taste. I have respect for it thou, great room spray !

    • My room spray is Elizabeth Taylor’s Passion for Men. You just have to love the humor she had in naming it that!

  5. Heavens, what a muddle – Fracas, of course, never lovely you. This morning I was good Auntie to one of my nephews and ferried him to the DMV for his driving test. On my return home I grabbed a handful of lavender blossoms and crushed them – and suddenly the scent memory of bureaucracy (a period of two hours and forty-five minutes) went billowing away. Next time I go I’ll take Elizabeth Taylor’s Passion for Men 😉

  6. I love this review. You are the “Jeremy Clarkson” of perfume reviewer!!

    Toodleoo
    Gian
    Consultant Style Advisor

  7. I admit I’ve got a soft spot for snarky reviews, it’s a great palate-cleanser for the swoon-iness we perfumistas sometimes indulge in. Nice job! 🙂

    • Yes!! I love a good snark now and then. My garden of rewiews was begninging to smell too sweet so it was time to add something sour.

  8. Geez, now you have me interested in smelling it!

    • I’d turn back from that road if I were you. But let me know if you do how it strikes you, with a bouquet or a baseball bat.

  9. Lol, This did make me chuckle. My nose hasn’t come across Fracas for Men but I have heard more than a few people say it is abysmal. Even Fracas is one of my least favourite tuberose fragrances although many follow it like a religion. My favourite Piguet is Bandit.

    • So many people talk about Bandit. I have to get my nose wrapped around that one.

  10. […] (scents memory): … it is like smelling Freon mixed with sewage from Tijuana that has been fermenting in an old cool… Follow the link to see which perfume evoked such strong […]

  11. Oh my gosh. I am so glad I didn’t miss this review! Hahahahahahaha 🙂

    • I am so glad you made it before the Bad Taste Parade was over!

  12. Hello, Lanier,

    I’m new to this site, and arrived here as result of doing some Fracas research perhaps similar to yours re F for Men. There are many eras of vintage, as I’ve discovered by buying on Ebay, and obviously some are far superior to others. Do you happen to know WHEN RP was sold to Alfin? I know Alfin sold RP to FF&C in the mid-90s, but I’d love to know when ALFIN acquired it from Robert Piguet, and thus be able to avoid the awfulness of that incarnation of a previously great and singular scent.

    • Hi Esmerelda! You know I really do not know the answer to your question. All of my information I gleaned from just researching the history of Fracas. But not clear on the dates. I wish I could be of more help.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Stats

    • 212,396 hits