THE GLAMOUR AND THE GLORY ~ Scent & Subversion by Barbara Herman Book Event

   SS B Herman book cover

 

Back from vacation and into the perfume social whirl of San Francisco Fumantics!  Last night at Books Inc. on Van Ness Avenue just north of our Belle Epoque inspired  Beaux-Arts Civic Center author and blogger (Yesterday’s Perfumes:http://www.yesterdaysperfume.com/ )   Barbara Herman came to read from her book Scent & Subversion: Decoding A Century of Provocative Perfumes. The event was a smashing success and Ms. Herman was a delight. Gallons of vintage perfume was sniffed and a ton of books were sold. Here is my video blog of the event.

Barbara

(Barbara Herman ~ photo from Basenotes)

Rg2

7 Comments

  1. I met Barbara at Sniffa this past fall and she is just a beautiful and charming woman. I’m so glad her book is doing well. I got my copy for Christmas and it is a very interesting and entertaining read.
    Still waiting patiently for your book…or perhaps a film with a screenplay written by you with a story in which perfume plays a starring role. ;)

    • Oh Poodle! You are so kind. Thank you. Yes is was dazzled by Barbara and the book is wonderful.

  2. That sounds like it was a really great event. I need to read her book. I think I may have downloaded it on my Kindle and then forgotten about it. Too busy sniffing new perfumes! Have you done any reviews of Phaedon’s recently? I’m finding some of their fragrances to be quite nice- Rouge Avignon, Tabac Rouge and Sable Marocain are my favorites.

    • Read that BOOK! No I haven’t done any reviews on Phaedon …or smelled any of them for that matter. While the house of Phaedon seems to be sweeping the YouTube fragrance community I have been left in the dust! So I need to get busy with this house and sniff something. They sound amazing.

  3. Thanks for the post and video – I couldn’t make it so I appreciated a taste of what it was like to be there. Thanks!

    • Sandy you are so very welcome. I am sorry you could not attend. It was a great evening!

  4. Dearest L
    Loved the film… love the sound of both book and author. Here’s hoping both cross my path soon. Though one suspects only the volume is available on Amazon.
    Yours ever
    The Perfumed Dandy


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Stats

    • 106,195 hits
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 314 other followers